Best in the Bay celebrated at Business Excellence & Innovation Awards

Sustainable practices and a focus on farm-to-plate style experiences has seen Redcliffe café Flock Eatery named Moreton Bay Regional Council Business of the Year at the 2018 Moreton Bay Region Business Excellence & Innovation Awards.

From community groups and exporters to entrepreneurs, school groups and not-for-profit organisations, the business community’s night of nights welcomed more than 450 guests to join in celebrations at Eatons Hill Hotel on Friday, 30 November.

A total 13 awards were presented at the sold-out gala event, including major award categories Moreton Bay Regional Council Business of the Year and SRJ Walker Wayland Community Group of the Year.

Flock Eatery took out top prize, chosen by judges from the total pool of applicants, while Community-owned Encircle Ltd won the Community Group of the Year category for its support of disadvantaged and at-risk people.

Encircle, which operates neighbourhood centres at Redcliffe and Lawnton, and a free legal service at Strathpine, was awarded a grand prize of $5,000 to help continue its invaluable work within the local community.

Proving that science and education is a winning combination for kids, Murrumba Downs-based It’s Rocket Science Adventures topped the Telstra Innovation Excellence category for its alternative learning and inventive tech products that help students explore the wonders of aviation, aerospace and rocket science.


A big thank you to all those who nominated as part of this year’s program, and congratulations to all of this year’s finalists and winners.

Meet the winners of the 2018 Moreton Bay Region Business Excellence & Innovation Awards:


SRJ Walker Wayland Building a Stronger Community Excellence Award

WINNER: Samford Commons


A Brave Life

Coastal Protection Core


TerryWhite Chemmart Samford

The Youth Development Foundation

Moreton Bay Region Industry & Tourism Customer Service Excellence Award

WINNER: Kallangur Dental Surgery


Mon Komo Hotel

Northshore Pet Resort

Rothwell Physiotherapy

Tasteful Transitions

Employee of the Year Award

WINNER: Ben Harrington – PCYC Pine Rivers


Antony King – It’s Rocket Science Adventures

Jordan Bampton – Mon Komo Hotel

Ruth Woollett – Scarborough Physio and Health

Tracy Johnson – SRJ Walker Wayland

Cleanaway Environment & Sustainability Excellence Award

WINNER: Flock Eatery


Coastal Protection Core

Kennedy’s Timbers

Loop Growers


Regional Development Australia Moreton Bay Exporting Excellence Award

WINNER: Solar Bollard Lighting


Big Dog Pet Foods


Southern Cross Educational Enterprises

Moreton Bay Region Industry & Tourism Visitor Experience Excellence Award

WINNER: Sandstone Point Hotel


Abbey Museum

Brisbane Whale Watching

Markets & Events Australia – Redcliffe Jetty Markets

Sebel Margate

Quest Community News Business Marketing Excellence Award

WINNER: Caboolture RSL



Larrikin Puppets

Sebel Margate

Sesame Lane Care and Kindergarten


Telstra Innovation Excellence Award

WINNER: It’s Rocket Science Adventures


Coastal Protection Core

Electronic & Mechanical Calibrations

Moveage Group

Solar Bollard Lighting

Innovate Moreton Bay Successful Start-Up Award



It’s Rocket Science Adventures

North West Physiotherapy – Eatons Hill


White Brick Brewing

USC Young Entrepreneur Award

WINNER: Eva Porter – Porter Designs


Geoff Abel – Flock Eatery

Jessica Ricketts – JR Media

Chris Ryan – Ryno Hire

Rebecca Anderson – Becky B Hair

Think2Be Youth Innovation Excellence Award

WINNER: Murrumba State Secondary College – ‘Hands Free Crutch’


Bray Park State High School – The Active Carriage

Pine Rivers State High School – Toilift

Redcliffe State High School – Inferno Racing

Tullawong State High School, Enterprise Academy - Glimpse


SRJ Walker Wayland Community Group of the Year Award

WINNER: Encircle Ltd.


A Brave Life

Chameleon Youth Housing

Samford Commons

The Youth Development Foundation

Moreton Bay Regional Council Business of the Year Award

WINNER: Flock Eatery

(chosen from total pool of entries)

Moreton Bay Region Industry & Tourism (MBRIT) CEO Shane Newcombe said that the awards attracted a high calibre of businesses, students, entrepreneurs, and community groups across the 12 award categories open for nomination.

“With more than 200 applications received, the entries really reflected the diversity within the business, education and not-for-profit sectors of the Moreton Bay Region,” Mr Newcombe said.

“I want to extend a big congratulations to all of this year’s winners, finalists and nominees for going above and beyond in showcasing their commitment to excellence, and ongoing contributions to the region.”

Moreton Bay Regional Council Mayor Allan Sutherland said that the awards celebrated the achievements and recognised the hard work of those who make the Moreton Bay Region a great place to live, work and play.

“I thank all our entrants, finalists and winners for the contributions they’ve made to ensuring our region’s economy and sense of community grow into the future,” he said.

“Your focus on the challenges and opportunities ahead will continue to deliver local jobs for our young people and see the Moreton Bay Region embrace not only new technologies but also the best-practices in customer service.

“You are absolutely deserving of this recognition and it has filled me with pride to be able to celebrate with you tonight.”

The 2018 Moreton Bay Region Business Excellence and Innovation were judged by a panel of leading business and industry experts, start-up mentors, founders, and representatives from the Queensland Government.

The Awards are proudly presented by MBRIT and Moreton Bay Regional Council, along with the award category sponsors. A special thank you goes to the event table sponsors, and 2018 MBRIT partners for making the night such a huge success.

Pictured: Lexie and Geoff Abel of award-winning Flock Eatery with Attorney-General of Queensland and Minister for Justice and Minister for Training and Skills, Yvette D'Ath, and Moreton Bay Regional Council Mayor, Allan Sutherland.