Entrepreneur of the Year

Entrepreneur of the Year

This award will recognise and celebrate an enterprising individual, either a founder or owner of a business, who adopts new or innovative ideas to generate a new product, service, business process or enter a new market.

OECD Definition of Entrepreneur

Entrepreneurs are those persons (business owners) who seek to generate value, through the creation or expansion of economic activity, by identifying and exploiting new products, processes or markets.


Ellie Bakker – Splice Marketing

Ellie Bakker is the visionary and entrepreneur behind three businesses – Splice Marketing, Telehealth Mastery and Splice Consulting. She has a passion and reputation for growing healthcare businesses and supporting health organisations and professionals deliver quality and accurate health information to the wider community.


Matt Ryan – CareTech

Matt is the current CEO of three companies LAS (Local Alarm Solutions) middleware software developer. CareTech designs and manufactures nurse call solutions. While RTM Cloud monitors electronic assets. The companies have all offices & warehouses in Clontarf while the PCB board manufacturing plant is in Underwood. They are all 100% Australian owned and operated in Brisbane.


Michael Holmstrom – STEM Punks

STEM Punks offers curriculum-aligned on-line courses in STEM (Sciences, Technology, Engineering, and Maths) for school students that are designed, developed, and delivered by teachers and leading innovators. STEM Punks mission is to “Inspire Tomorrow’s Innovators” and teach kids about 21st Century Skills by enabling a mindset of creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship.


Michael Kennedy – Kennedy’s Timbers

Michael is the Founder and CEO of Kennedy's Timbers, a family business that has been specializing in the supply of recycled and eco-sustainable timbers for commercial and residential projects since 1995.


Mike Arieni – Key Wholesalers/Solar Bollard Lighting

Mike Arieni is an innovative, enthusiastic, and highly accomplished management professional and entrepreneur. He has an outstanding record of achievement in key business development roles, both domestically and internationally.


Review full list of finalists here.


Peter Kellett
Head of Community and Innovation, Grace Lutheran College

Aaron Birkby
Cofounder, Unconventional Group

Brad Flynn
Managing Director, Business Mentored

Prof Brent Moyle
Associate Professor, Griffith University

Graham Fellows
Manager, QUT Entrepreneurship

Review judge profiles here.